Rantings, Ravings & Hellos

I don’t actually know what I want to write to you today.

There are a number of things I probably should be writing, like the response to the requests on vegan information & becoming vegan, parts of my novel, parts of my poetry chapbook.

Ah, well. You can’t win them all.

All I know is that I need to write.

I haven’t written in days now, very nearly a week, and it is something that I can truly feel myself longing for.

There is something about writing that is impossible to understand if you are not a writer yourself. It is almost as if there is some primal need to do it. Writing is an addiction and a cure all at once. It’s one of the most liberating and incarcerating things that you will ever do. You become a slave to the pen that gives you wings to fly.

I haven’t been able to write lately because my life has changed drastically. Suddenly, I’ve found myself with a career that is blooming massively all around me. Not only do I now have a full-time, adult job, but I’ve found myself in a job coaching national rugby.

The person that I am now is unrecognizable to the person that I was a year ago. The person that sits here now is an ambitious, excited, lively person who loves life and is finally so happy where she is.

The person that sat here a year ago was the person just waiting meekly by for a death that never seemed to come.

Long story short, my commitments have become quite substantial, and it is pulling me away from my writing, which I am determined to disallow. If I have learned anything about myself in the last year, it is that writing is something that I need – it’s like a sustenance to my soul and a way to keep my mind light and free.

So, to all those who have been following along and requesting information on vegan, or those who are just enjoying my journey, I apologise. After this week, posting will return to normal…I promise!